» News » Top awards for keen problem solvers

Top awards for keen problem solvers

21 July 2020  |  Jill Lundberg  |  Posted in: ,

Each year, the school encourages students to take part in Maths challenges run by UKMT, a UK-based charity that organises annual events for students in Key Stages 3, 4 and 5.

One of these challenges is the Junior Mathematics Challenge which is aimed at gifted and talented mathematicians up to and including those in Year 8.   In a normal year, we would invite students from Year 6, nominated by their primary schools, to attend a series of classes so that they too could take this challenge along with our Year 7 and Year 8 students. Sadly, this was not possible this year but were delighted that UKMT made the challenge available online.  Although it demanded a lot from students to do practise materials at home, and then to follow the detailed instructions to take the assessment, 102 students in years 6, 7 and 8 rose to the challenge.

We are extremely proud of all the students who took part and wish to highlight 41 students who achieved bronze, silver and gold awards.  We are looking forward to presenting the students with their certificates in September.

Year 6
Natasha Thornton – Gold
Johannes Delacoe-Eyre – Gold
Jacob Thomas – Silver
William Swainston – Bronze
Ethan Aston – Bronze
Catherine Harrison – Bronze

Year 7
Ellie Hughes – Silver
Edwin Carr – Silver
Cayden Allmark – Bronze
Matthew Brown – Bronze
Shelby Carter – Bronze
Jake Gault – Bronze
Charlotte Harrison – Bronze
Oliver Rhodes – Bronze
Evie Wharton – Bronze
Joe White – Bronze

Year 8
Theo Webster – Gold
Tabitha Aston – Silver
Beth Butler – Silver
Megan Davies – Silver
Murray Duncan – Silver
Jessie Hankin – Silver
Jake Parker – Silver
Harry Sellers – Silver
Hannah Slater – Silver
Fearn Wheatley – Silver
Bethany Wilkinson – Silver
Jasmine Akin – Bronze
Katie Carruthers – Bronze
Abigail Greaves – Bronze
Eve Hughes – Bronze
Phoebe Jones – Bronze
Philippa Kind – Bronze
Ruby Mason – Bronze
Joseph Mckinlay – Bronze
Ethan Stewart – Bronze
Megan Tait – Bronze
Alexandra Thompson – Bronze
Jacob Wharton – Bronze
Travis Wilkinson – Bronze
Nathan Wilson – Bronze


Scroll to Top