Richmond School’s U13 Cricket Team Become Yorkshire Champions

  • Posted On: 21 March 2017
  • Author: Ellie Blenkiron
  • Number of views: 993
Richmond School’s U13 Cricket Team Become Yorkshire Champions

Our Year 8 students went to Headingley, the home of Yorkshire cricket, for the Indoor County finals.  They had won two previous tournaments earlier in the year to become North Yorkshire Regional Champions.  Several members of the team had also experienced playing at Headingley before, having been beaten in last year’s semi-final.  This year they were fully motivated and determined to win the cup. 

The competition put Richmond School against 7 other Regional winners from across Yorkshire, with the schools playing in two groups of four.  Richmond started against Ryburn Valley High School and began with an outstanding performance, scoring 104 runs in 8 overs and restricting Ryburn Valley to only 68 runs due to exceptional fielding and bowling.  In the second game Richmond again batted first and posted over 100 runs, mainly due to Tom Ward (Captain) and Ben Dale who both scored quickly when they returned to the crease following their earlier 15 run retirement.  Ben hit two 6s in the final over to get the score into triple figures.  In reply, St Marys College started well and due to some wayward bowling from Richmond they were scoring at the required rate until they ran out of steam in the final overs and Richmond won by 20 runs. 

In the final group game Richmond again posted a big score of 106, with Ben Dale, Tom Ward and Jonny Baines all scoring well, supported by Angus Potter and Alex Percival who chipped in with quick runs towards the end of the innings. In reply, Wickersley School was always behind the rate and finished 30 runs short which meant Richmond qualified for the semi-finals as group winners, winning every game.

The semi-finals put Richmond against the West Yorkshire Champions Ralph Thoresby School who had finished runners up in their group.  In a fiery semi-final Richmond lost three early wickets, which gave Ralph Thoresby School an instant lift, putting the Richmond batters under huge pressure with accurate bowling and intense fielding.  Jonny Baines rescued the innings for Richmond along with Alex Percival, Charlie Stephenson and finally Patrick Carlton who added very useful runs in the final overs to help Richmond post 94 in 8 overs, which had looked very unlikely after the first two overs.  In reply, Ralph Thoresby School also lost quick wickets as Richmond ‘upped’ their game in the field, with Matthew Callender taking an outstanding reflex catch and then running another batsman out with more sharp fielding.  Quick thinking from Captain Tom Ward created two more run-outs and then Jonny Baines finished the innings to bowl Ralph Thorseby School all out for 50 runs. 

This was a great team performance, however Richmond saved their best for the final.  Playing against South Yorkshire champions King Ecgberts School who won the toss and elected to bat, Richmond were bowling first for the first time in the competition.  This change of tactic didn’t affect Richmond as they got a wicket with the very first ball, Angus Potter taking a brilliant reaction catch above his head at close range.   The bowling of Jonny Baines and Ben Dale along with more excellent fielding reduced King Ecgberts to 30-6 with Ben Dale perhaps taking the catch of the tournament, kicking the ball into the air and then catching the rebound off the net.  King Ecgberts School recovered to finish on 64, a score that was quickly chased down by Richmond’s  two opening batsman Ben Dale and Tom Ward and although the team had a ‘wobble’, losing 3 wickets with only a handful of runs needed to win, Richmond won the game with 4 overs still remaining, with Charlie Stephenson and Angus Potter at the crease.  

Throughout the day the whole team performed exceptionally well and all members of the squad played an important role in becoming Yorkshire Champions. 

Mr Kellett – Team Manager


The team picture names from left to right:

Matthew Callender, Angus Potter, George McCowie, Alex Percival, Harris Mcfarlane, Ben Dale, Tom Ward (c), Charlie Stephenson, Patrick Carlton and Johnny Baines.

Categories: News